Nomansland and Bramshaw Cricket Clubs to merge...

Captain (Saturday): Sam Dempster, Vice Captain: Gary Loveless
Captain (Tuesday)Terry Harrison, Vice Captain: Sam Wallace
President: P Arnold
Vice Presidents: W Dunn, M Duro, A R Hull, C Laage, Mrs P Maddigan, L Mason, Mrs Z Mason, R Mason, D Nash, M W Scriven, J Sillett, M Evans, G Winter
Life Members: P Arnold, G Goddard, V Loveless
Chairman: M Gurd
Secretary: J Barrett
Treasurer: D Grayer
General Committee: G Loveless, T Pennell, S Robertson, M Rowland, B Westhead C Mason

NCC History: On the green since 1926

From the early days, the Cricket Club had been playing at Lyburn Park, by invitation of the owner, Mr R C Leigh, who had also supplied the teas. However in 1925 they asked permission of the Forestry Commission to have a pitch on the Green. They received permission in time for the 1926 season for a payment of five shillings a year and any fence was “only to be of a temporary nature”.

This pitch was probably unique in that it included parts of two roads, the boundary being the garden fences (i.e. the County Boundary). An extra duty of the umpire here was to check that no vehicles were coming before giving a nod to the bowler to bowl.

Besides the traffic problem, a ‘six’ could break tiles on cottage roofs, Boundary Cottage was particularly vulnerable. (The then owner is reputed to have said “I don’t mind the tiles so much, its the fact they laugh”). In later years the increase of road traffic delayed the bowler more and more often. So in 1973, the pitch was moved so that the nearest road now became the boundary and play could be continuous. However, cars still need to be aware of batsmen hitting a six.

The Club were also given permission to build a small pavillion, which is sited between the trees, and indeed the new pitch still has 4 large trees (oaks and beeches) and the War Memorial inside the boundary. These difficulties are offset, at least for the spectators, by the magnificent view across the wooded Hampshire countryside to Dean Hill on the edge of the Hampshire Basin.


Click here for the Club Honours and Club Records and Statistics